Florida Fire Extinguisher Laws
Fire extinguisher laws in Florida are designed to save lives. All extinguishers must be properly tested to ensure quality. Those who must utilize them should have proper training to do so. Even if a location isn't required to have a fire extinguisher in Florida, one should be supplied to decrease the odds of fire related accidents and deaths.
Any recreational boat in Florida that is over 26 feet in length is required by law to have an approved fire extinguisher on board at all times. Boats that are less than 26 feet in length, propelled by an outboard motor, do not contain installed gas tanks, and cannot trap explosive vapors or gasses are exempt from this law. Approved extinguishers have a "Marine Type USCG Approved" marking on them.
Under the guidelines of the 2005 Florida Statutes Section 633.061(1), individuals or organizations who wish to install, repair, test, recharge or inspect any Florida fire extinguisher must have a license to do so from the State Fire Marshal. Licenses must be renewed once every two years.
According to the U.S. Fire Administration, different types of extinguishers should be used for different types of fires in Florida. For example, a Class A extinguisher should be used to put out fires caused by cloth, rubber, paper, plastics, and wood, while a Class C extinguisher should be used to put out an electrical fire.